Junior sedan feature race wins to Roberts and Udecz, Jewell too strong in formula 125 final on home track

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Junior sedan feature winners Luke Roberts and Riley Udecz.
Camera IconJunior sedan feature winners Luke Roberts and Riley Udecz. Credit: JSRA

Luke Roberts and Riley Udecz claimed top honours in round five of the Junior Sedan Racing Association series at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

The JSRA event was run in conjunction with the formula 125 feature, with Jacinta Jewell and Georgia Ellis coming out top in their respective finals.

In the 20-lap top stars final, Albany’s Cody Colmer started on the front row and drifted back through the field but worked his way back into contention.

Colmer crossed the line first but was relegated by stewards post-race and was officially third, with Roberts declared the winner ahead of Mason Whitehead.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Jesse Hamon and Joel Bowman rounded out the top five in the top stars.

Earlier in the heat races, Colmer won two while Colby Bosley, Hamon, Joel Bowman and Roberts also tasted success.

Albany’s Udecz proved too strong on his home track, with a dominant display in the 15-lap feature race.

Udecz led from start to finish on his way to crossing the line 4.361 seconds ahead of fellow local competitor Tyler Bowman. Addison Walsh, Chloe Coxall and William Glasby rounded out the top five.

In the heat races, Udecz was successful twice while Glasby also had a win.

Jewell was too strong in the formula 125 senior final after starting on the front row.

She controlled the 15-lap final to down Jasmin Ellis by 1.399 seconds and Cameron Tester was third home, while Craig Tester and Peter Harris completed the top five.

Jewell won two heat races and Cameron Tester was also victorious earlier in the night.

Georgia Ellis was a narrow winner of the formula 125 junior final over 11 laps.

She beat Sophie Leonard home by 1.003 seconds and Olivia Hahn claimed third place.

Kade Kulker, Leonard and Georgia Ellis were the heat race winners.

Ahead of the upcoming national title Glynn McBeath won the super sedan final, Rowan Burrell claimed the production sedan final and Tyron Hall was the street stocks winner.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails