Awards spotlight on top club performers

David EckhartNorth West Telegraph
Port Batsman Glenn Robertson.
Camera IconPort Batsman Glenn Robertson. Credit: Sophia Constantine/Picture: Sophia Constantine, Sophia Constantine.

Port Hedland Cricket Association marked the end of its season with an awards night on March 24.

Despite not taking home the major prizes, Port Hedland Cricket Club took home plenty of silverware on the night.

Jarrad O’Dea was named runner-up cricketer of the year, half a point ahead of his captain, Glenn Robertson. Both were named in the season’s All Stars team.

O’Dea was also named player of the tournament at country week in January, and took the most wickets and catches in senior grade cricket. Robertson also won best Twenty20 bowling average (9.75) and best senior grade batting average (75.33).

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The season’s champion team, Wanderers, took home two grand final trophies and two grand final players of the match — David Thomason in the Twenty20 final, and Joshua Standen in the senior grade final.

Wanderers’ Marcus Stoinis lookalike, Michael Mobilia, was by far the outstanding batsman in the Twenty20 season, amassing 238 runs at 119.00 — an effort he was unable to replicate in the longer format games but enough also to be named in the All Stars.

Mines captain Taurean Williams put together the complete all-rounder’s season across all forms of cricket to be named the season’s cricketer of the year again, and took the batting aggregate award for senior grade cricket with 268 runs.

The All Star team for 2017-18 is: Taurean Williams (Mines) , Jarrad O’Dea (Port), Glenn Robertson (Port), Neil Smith (Mines), Michael Mobilia (Wanderers), Troy Morrissey (Mines), Ryan Steel (Wanderers), Nathan Smith (Port), Chris Briody (Port), Chris Wichura (Wanderers), Wayne Stokes (Wanderers) and David Thomason (Wanderers).

Milestone recognitions were awarded to Mobilia and Ryan Ibbotson for centuries in the Twenty20 season, as well as O’Dea, Steel, Anshul Sharma and Jarred Ams for taking five wickets an innings in games played this season.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails