Councillor numbers fall in East Pilbara

Daneka HillNorth West Telegraph
Shire of East Pilbara president Lynne Craigie.
Camera IconShire of East Pilbara president Lynne Craigie. Credit: WA News

Three of the 11 elected members sitting on the Shire of East Pilbara have quit in the space of four months.

The minimum number of members the council needs to function is six, and the forthcoming local government elections on October 19 cannot come quickly enough.

Councillors Jeton Ah-medi, Craig Hoyer and Brid-get Schill have all resigned this year.

The Shire has opted on all three occasions to keep the seats unfilled until the elections.

Long-term Newman resident Mr Hoyer said he left because he was moving to Perth, and Mr Ahmedi said he become too busy to continue as deputy Shire president.

Ms Schill — better known as Biddy — stepped down in June after six years on the council.

Shire president Lynne Craigie said the rapid loss of councillors was because of individual circumstances changing.

“In these instances one councillor who was up for re-election in October decided that she would resign and the other two councillors, who were also up for re-election in October, transferred to Perth for work,” she said.

Ms Craigie has been appealing to residents to have a go at becoming a councillor.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails