Craigie has council’s confidence in top job

Taylar AmoniniNorth West Telegraph

Lynne Craigie has been re-elected as Shire president during the first meeting of the new Shire of East Pilbara council.

Councillor Jeton “Jay” Ahmedi was elected deputy Shire president for the first time since being elected in 2015.

Ms Craigie and Mr Ahmedi are joined by new councillors Anthony Middleton and Carol Williams and returning councillors Anita Grace, Gerry Parsons, Lang Coppin and Dean Hatwell.

Ms Craigie expressed her gratitude to the council for voting to keep her at the head of the Shire’s representing team.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“I would like to welcome Anthony and Carol as part of the Shire of East Pilbara Council and wish them the very best as they fulfil their roles as elected members for their respective wards,” she said.

“We’ve got more diversity than we’ve had before with age range — we’ve got five females and six males so it’s quite an even split.”

Ms Craigie also congratulated Mr Ahmedi for his appointment to deputy Shire president.

Mr Ahmedi replaced Cr Coppin who has remained a councillor for the North ward of the shire.

I look forward to working closer with you as we represent the people of our community,” she said.

Joining the Shire of East Pilbara Council in 2003, Ms Craigie has been Shire president since first being elected to the position in 2005.

She also celebrates her re-election as chairwoman of the Pilbara Regional Council this month and continues her role as president of the Western Australian Local Government Association.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails