Sports achievements recognised

Sam JonesNorth West Telegraph
All the winners from the night
Camera IconAll the winners from the night

Sporting stars from across town were celebrated at the Town of Port Hedland and BHP Community Sports Awards last Friday night.

Presented by cricket star Brad Hogg, the night recognised outstanding achievements, not just by athletes but by coaches, volunteers and the clubs which organised the events.

The sportsman of the year award went to Dean Marlow from the Sang-Rok Hedland Judo Club.

Despite being relatively new to the sport, Marlow made it all the way to the National Judo Championships this year, winning gold in the Masters 100kg+ division.

Relma Bule-Turner was the recipient of the sportswoman of the year award for her work with Hedland Taekwondo.

It was a taekwondo type of year, with the club also taking out junior male and junior female athlete of the year, a clean sweep for the combat sports in the individual athlete awards.

Nathan Joubert was the recipient of the best junior male athlete award. Coming from a relatively shy background, Joubert talked during his speech about how the sport had helped him to realise his potential and become a more outgoing young man.

The best junior female athlete award was won by Amity Stewart, another taekwondo superstar who proved again the depth and diversity of athletic ability in Port Hedland.

James Brown was named the coach of the year for his work with the Port Hedland Juniors Soccer Club, being only his first year of coaching for the club.

He was recognised for the commitment and effort put into promoting the sport in what is not traditionally a soccer town.

Menushi Perera received the official of the year award, while the volunteer of the year gong was shared between Shelley Glasson and Kristina Quince.

Closing the night, the Hedland Water Polo Association was named club of the year for its work promoting the recently created flipper ball league, which aims to introduce juniors to the sport in a smaller pool with less cumbersome rules.

Town of Port Hedland commissioner Fred Reibeling congratulated all winners, praising the diversity of sports represented at the event.

“I’d like to once again congratulate all the award recipients for their contributions to Hedland’s sporting culture, showing leadership in the community and inspiring others,” he said.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails