Teams in race for trophy

David EckhartThe West Australian
Miners Paul Huckel hits a ball low on Friday evening.
Camera IconMiners Paul Huckel hits a ball low on Friday evening. Credit: Daneka Hill

The Mines and Wanderers will play for the right to take on Port Hedland for the first trophy of the Port Hedland Cricket Association season.

The senior grade, 40-over, competition played out the final two games in the qualifying rounds, with South Hedland losing out to Mines on Friday night by 47 runs before bouncing back the following night putting Wanderers to the sword, running down an imposing 172-run target in 31 overs for the loss of just one wicket.

In Friday night action, Mines, led by Neil Smith (54 no) and captain Taurean Williams (39), scored 164 runs for the loss of 8 wickets from their 40 overs.

South lost wickets at consistent intervals without managing to put together any meaningful partnerships in the chase, eventually falling short in the 33rd over, with top scorer Josh Hunter last man out for a patient 42 with Smith (3/8), Williams (3/12) and Izzy Kalzee (3/17) sharing the bulk of the wickets.

Hunter backed up his Friday night batting with a five-wicket haul on Saturday night as South gave up 171 runs before capturing the last Wanderers wicket in the 38th over.

Julian Wilmott and Charles Bradshaw put on 65 runs before Wilmott (23) was dismissed in the 16th over, bringing captain Shoaib Khan to the crease.

For the next 15 overs, Khan and Bradshaw carved 14 boundaries and a pair of sixes in an unbeaten century stand that took the Southerners to victory.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails