New councils reign across the Pilbara

Taylar AmoniniNorth West Telegraph

After a tough campaign and an at-times dramatic election-night count, Camilo Blanco has retained his mayor’s chains

Thanking the people of Port Hedland, Mr Blanco said he was pleased to continue to help improve Port Hedland.

“It’s a clear victory by the Hedland people which clearly states that people want to see anti-social issues reduced, they want to see us supporting police,” he said.

“They want to see council tackle the tough issues that have faced Hedland for a long time, and I will continue to make that happen.”

Five new councillors will also join Mr Blanco and remaining members Richard Whitwell, Julie Arif and Louise Newberry.

Telona Pitt, Peter Carter, Warren McDonogh, George Daccache and Tricia Hebbard will form the rest of the Town’s elected members.

Following the mayoral decision announcement in Port Hedland, an altercation occurred between two members of the public in attendance.

While the cause of the altercation was unclear, shouts rang out at the Port Hedland Civic Centre and police were called.

Port Hedland officer-in-charge Jayd Morawski, however, said no charges were being pursued.

On the other side of the Pilbara, two new faces will join the Shire of East Pilbara council.

Anthony Middleton, Gerry Parsons and Anita Grace were successful for the South Ward, Carol Williams took the East Ward win while Lang Coppin and Dean Hatwell took their respective wards unopposed.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails