Karratha Falcons take West Pilbara Cricket T20 crown in high-scoring win over Pegs Creek

Alexander ScottPilbara News
T20 champions the Karratha Falcons.
Camera IconT20 champions the Karratha Falcons. Credit: Facebook/Karratha Falcons Cricket Club

Karratha Falcons are the West Pilbara Cricket Association T20 champions after downing Pegs Creek in a high-scoring final.

The grand final clash between the top-of-the-ladder teams took place at the Karratha Leisureplex on March 23 with Pegs batting first.

Opener Michael Greene (34 off 46) got his side off to a steady start, but it was middle-order powerhouse Lachlan Seabrook who took the game on with a boundary-hitting masterclass.

Blasting 66 from just 24 deliveries, Seabrook smashed six fours and five sixes to push his side to a dominant position. Pegs finished their innings with a high score of 6-156.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


In reply, Falcon’s run chase got off to a rocky start, with Matthew Smith and Seabrook claiming three quick scalps to leave the chasing side at 3-27.

Opener Rohan Murphy remained calm hitting an unbeaten half-century and carried his bat with plenty of support from Cody Bone (62) and Cameron Nowotny (23) to see his side over the line with two overs to spare.

The calm run chase saw the Falcons finish 4-159 to secure the six-wicket victory and the T20 crown.

Meanwhile, in the B-grade grand final, Dampier Taverners brutally demolished Pegs Creek to claim the crown.

Pegs batted first and were bundled out for a measly 67 runs with Ryan Trewin and Will Graham taking three wickets each.

Despite regular wickets falling, Taverners cruised to victory chasing down the required runs in the 13th over with six wickets in hand.

In the end Taverners defeated Pegs creek by six wickets, finishing on 4-69.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails